Relocating to San Francisco – can you guys help!

Home Forums Members Only Trade Professionals Relocating to San Francisco – can you guys help!

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  PLUMBILL 13 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

Hello plumbers of America!
    I am a 30 year old time served plumber and soon to be qualified gas fitter from the UK who will be relocating with my partner to San Francisco in july/sept this year. She has a minimum of 2 years contract and if we both like it over there would probably look to settle in your fine country for some time. I have been plumbing for nearly 5 years and have nearly finished my training which has taken over 4 years, I will then be trained to NVQ 3 standard which in the UK means I’ll be a qualified heating and gas engineer with relavant gas fitting tickets, which is recognised in the uk as a Corgi badge holder and deems you competent to deal with gas – now esential in the UK for undertaking any gas works.
    If any fellow tradesmen could offer any help or suggestions for what I will need to gain employment in the states (my green card is being sorted by my partners firm) what relavent/equivalent qualifications and tickets I may need to gain, employment prospects/opportunities, any companies I could send c.v.’s to and ideas how much I may earn
    as a plumber in the USA – infact any lowdown at all would be greatly appreciated!
    Many thanks,
    Jonathan Brindley

Go to local Plumbers Union Hall and ask there. Let me know.

Art retired plbg

I have a good friend that was a plumber over in England and he told me plumbing is very differn’t here in the states compared to England.

There are a few other plumbing sites you should look at: Plumbing Help Forum, ThePlumber.com also do a Goggle seach for Plumbing Isometric Drawings and compare this work to what you are doing.