quoting rates

Home Forums Public Forums Estimating & Costing quoting rates

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author

Just a quick question,
        I know master plumbers recommends a rate of between $43 and $58 an hr, but what rates are we realy quoting at??

Im in Brisbane and work on about $38hr, should I be higher, or am I too high.

The reason is that a new builder i have gained thinks im high, as he was getting a bloke for $20hr, BUT you get what you pay for

bungie

Participant

As a Master plumber I charge several different rates. For example when I work as an “expert witness” for various law firms I charge $145 per (hr min 4 hours)

When I do roof drain installations I normally average $225 per hr per man ( me and a helper)

When I do minor repairs like changing a washer I charge $85 per hr or any part there of
          I am now figuring a new one family home and basing my rate @$125 per hr per man.

Tell this builder bloke HE charges WAY to much for houses as you know in America An Ex president (Carter) works for FREE and you think this is the right price for a general contractor. Being a REAL Master Plumber means lots and lots of past schooling and even more schooling to keep abreast of all the code changes. I just gave a price to install 5 roof drains for $1050 ea The roofer asked if I could give him a better price if HE guaranteed I could install all 5 in one 6 hour day ( total material cost me $750 total labor $200) I settled for $900 ea. This contractor thanked me as I can offer him peace of mind in giving him quality in workmanship and quality in my cast Iron drains. You must find your own worth and also figure your own bottom line.

Everyone has different expenses and has to know what they consider their own personal worth. My lowest is $85 per HR now matter what I do even if I just plunger/auger a toilet

My high I havnt reached yet :-)

Good luck and NEVER sell yourself short

SylvanLMP

Participant

Hmmmmmm