dishwasher sink vent

Home Forums Public Forums Drainage & Sewerage dishwasher sink vent

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

I wish to replace my faucet and would like to use the sink hole occupied by the dishwasher vent, can I do away with it and plumb directly to the sink waste ?

Participant

No thats part of the DW hook up.

Participant

I will post pictures of a perfect example of the necessity of a physical separation between potable water and wastewater.

Anything that defies Plumbing Principle #15 is not following proper protection of health and human life.

As a plumber, I live by the code of doing it right, and right the first time.

Anytime I hear someone trying remove something that protects from a cross-connection, it disgusts me since I know it was done for cosmetic reasons only.

» This message has been edited by DUNBAR on 10 August 2004

Participant

This is the picture of the icemaker that was having its ice contaminated by sewer gas due to improper installation. Notice the discharge below the flood level rim of the sink; every time that sink clogged, it would suck wastewater back into the condensate pump every time the pump engaged, creating a cross connection back into the pump which was not trapped coming from the icemaker discharge.

Participant

Here is where they tied into BEHIND the trap, which allowed sewer gas to travel from the condensate pump back into the icemaker.

Participant

Here is the nastiness that was found in the icemaker from water filters that hadn’t been changed in 2 years, along with the sewer gas entering the ice bin.

Participant

Here is how the repair was made.