Site Drainage & Sump Pump Questions

Home Forums Public Forums Drainage & Sewerage Site Drainage & Sump Pump Questions

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Hello,
        I’m a landscape contractor. A client I have just moved into a building they bought. In the parking lot there is a drain at the bottom of a recessed loading dock. This drain has a 4.5″ pipe leading to a catch basin that is roughly 425 cubic feet. The catch basin has a 12 HP sump pump at the bottom that pumps into a 2″ pipe that leads out to another smaller storm water catch basin, and hopefully from there it runs to the street storm water basin. The sump pump wasn’t working, so the catch basin didn’t empty so the loading dock didn’t empty for a couple of days after a 1″ rain. I have some questions that maybe some of you can help me with.
        1. We believe that sump pump is not big enough to move that much water in a timely matter? What would you suggest?
        2. Is the 2″ pipe the correct size to handle that much water? That may be predicated by the pump requirements? It seems that all of the pipes leading to the drain are 4″ and 4.5″ but there is only a 2″ pipe to remove it.
        3. The drain at the bottom of the loading dock is 2′ by 2′ by 2′ deep with a 4.5″ pipe at the TOP of the basin. So there is about a foot or so of standing water at the bottom of the basin that doesn’t go away until it eveporates apparently. In the mean time, it seems like a perfect mosquito breeding ground & the water sitting in there sure doesn’t smell good. Shouldn’t this be set up with the pipe set low in the drain basin to avoid the standing water issue?
        4. The basin with the sump pump is extremely moist which seems to corrode the electrical out let & the pumps plugs. Is it OK to hard wire the sump pump so that it can be completely sealed from moisture?

Thanks for any help.

BRL

Participant