Unpacking oakum+lead hub joint?

Home Forums Public Forums Drainage & Sewerage Unpacking oakum+lead hub joint?

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

OK, big time help needed: I’ve come to a situation I’ve not seen before….

Cast iron hub-type sewer line wye, with a PVC 3″ DWV joined with the “classic” oakum-lead seal: how can I dissassemble this? The DWV coming off this is a solid block of back to back couplings, so no opportunity there to use a no-hub clamp.

I’ve never worked with these classic selas before, so any and all help is much appreciated!

Thanks,
        -frank

Participant

Hey Frank nothing classic here we STILL use QUALITY poured joints for those folks who demand Quality.

OK simple repair here NO PROBLEM. As you have several choices.

1- Cut the plastic crap with a saw about 3 or 4″ above the hub and go no hub coupling from there AFTER you repack the lead joint tight with a caulking iron or very flat chisel.

2- Get a saw cut the plastic crap out close to the hub and saw the plastic garbage down the middle and split it (put a rag in the drain to prevent debris going down) Then after you remove the plastic you can use a chisel and GENTLY split the caulked joint and remove the lead and old oakum.

3- Get a good saw blade cut the cast iron just below this hub get a MISSION coupling NEVER (FERNCO) and get an Extra heavy mission coupling plastic or standard pipe size (Schedule 40)then go on with basic simple connections

4- Best bet STEP 2 then hire a mechanic to install a piece of no hub pipe into this bell part of the cast iron recaulk it properly (1 pound of lead per inch of diameter) and yarn, pack and trim.

This should take less then 15 minutes even if the joint is 3/4 under water or on the horizontal.

Get a plumbers hourly rate and have them do this part of the job.

Then you can attach the plastic to the piece of no hub cast Iron sticking out of this hub

Participant