Sewer gas smells.

Home Forums Public Forums Drainage & Sewerage Sewer gas smells.

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

i was wondering if it is possible to get ill from sewer gas smell coming into our house. we have an
        arobic system and can not find anyone in our area to help us. we have been sick and i wanted to know if the
        smell could have anything to do with this

Participant

Dianna, I am not a doctor, but I play one on television, and I do have some knowledge regarding septic systems. Aside from the fact that the various gasses produced by the microbes in your septic system are odorous, and obnoxious, some of the gasses, in high concentrations, will have a deleterious affect on your health, and may be explosive under certain conditions. Even aerobic systems depend on anaerobic digestion as part of the treatment process. The noxious gasses are predominately produced by these anaerobic microorganisms. If you have a vent leak, I suggest that you contact a licensed plumber immediately to solve the problem. JWA

Participant

Diana,
            I’m not a doctor. I don’t even play one on TV, but I did run across this on another site (www.toiletology.com/toc.shtml, then look under vexing problems)and thought it might help remedy your problem:

Question: What causes my toilet to give off the odor of sewer gas when the toilet is flushed
            even though my bathroom and toilet are clean?

A.There can be several reasons for this problem. It can be caused by the water level in the
            toilet bowl dropping too low and allowing sewer gas from the system to enter through the toilet.

Your pet may be drinking from the bowl; the solution is to keep the lid
            down on the bowl. Photo courtesy of Robert R. Falk

The water can also evaporate from the bowl of an unused toilet, such as
            in a basement or guest room. In this case, the solution is to regularly
            flush a toilet that is not used often.