new gas line

Home Forums Public Forums Gas & Gasfitting new gas line

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author

Ok, a little help needed here. I’m going to be running a new LP gas line in my house to service a forced-air furnace and a LP fireplace (no currnet LP service). I’m planing on using flex stainless lines. I’ve never used this before and need some help. Should I run the main line from the LP tank to the utility room and into a manifold, then run two seprate lines from the manifold, one to the furnace and one to the fireplace? What size flex pipe should I use for the three runs? Can I run the flex stainless right out the side of the house for the LP tank connection? Any other tips/advice?

Participant

I believe that corrugated stainless steel tubing (CSST) is allowed in interior installations only strictly in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications for the appliance. CSST is usually installed in short runs from the appliance gas valve to the appliance. I don’t think you can use it for longer runs of gas supply pipe: used approved pipe materials and fittings for that. Check with your local authorties.

NtP

Avatar photoRobert Stephen Morton
          Participant

Do I read that question right? You are going to run the high pressure to the utility room & then install the manifold? Mate, if you have to ask questions on this forum about the technicalities of gas installation – then you are obviously “Not” Licensed”
            Wetthumbs, GAS KILLS – call a licensed person to carry out the installation, its real cheap insursance.
            Bob

Participant