Gas Pipe Size Natuaral Gas.

Home Forums Public Forums Gas & Gasfitting Gas Pipe Size Natuaral Gas.

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

There is about a 40 foot run of 3/4″ pipe before the 75,000 btu furnace and 35,000 btu water heater. A leg does from there to a 22,000 btu clothes drier.

Okay that comes to 132,000 imput btus. According to the chart linked below, it looks as if I’m putting it close or maybe even in excess.
        http://www.aprsupply.com/aprtech14.htm

I need to put a typical home gas range on line before the furnace.

Do I need to change the entire length… where the pipe coming into the house from 3/4′ to 1″??
        At least the main trunk? which is about 32 feet.

Enough info here?

Thanks CRR

» This message has been edited by straight_cut on 16 March 2003

Participant

Please read the post before yours , call a certified gas installer,thank you

Participant

Mike thanks… by the end of the week I will have talked with a few union plumbers by trade and a couple of engineers. Perhaps they will even lay it out for me. I will however do the work myself.

Union plumbers did the job I’m talking about. It was me, not a certified plumber that recognized the possible discrepancy in undersized piping. The licensed HVAC Mechanic that installed the furnace didn’t make note of the situation either. fact is…I don’t think he even looked at it.

I will become educated enough to do the job. It will be of 100% top quality when finished too.

Perhaps I came to the wrong place for plumbing conversation. Maybe I’d be better off going to a fishing forum.

Maybe next time I install a new electrical circuit I should get scared about it and call a certifies electrician…
            NOT!!!
            Thanks for the help I’m seeking.

» This message has been edited by straight_cut on 16 March 2003

Participant

http://wwwboard.masterplumbers.com/wwwboard/images/forums/forum2.gif

Gas & Gasfitting