Unlicensed work

Home Forums Public Forums Gas & Gasfitting Unlicensed work

• This topic has 14 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 21 years ago by Avatar photoRobert Stephen Morton.
Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author

Peter (kiwi Pete). I have been laying plums for nigh on 41 years now. I am extremely proud of my chosen proffession & am, I suppose sarcastic to any person who admits to carrying out licensable work & stuffs up then asks licensed Plumbers to show them ways to fix theri fxxx ups.
        I believe that is one failing of this Forum, Where supposedly Proffessional Plumbers, Drainers & gasfitters abett these unqualified persons.
        I have never answered a question in a helpfull way other than to tell them to engage a licensed person to fix the problem.
        I believe that if it is a licensed person asking the question they should be able to understand a technical answer.
        Gas is another question though. I was taught when I was doing tech that should I certify a job or carry out a job that killed or maimed a person, then I could be charged with manslaughter.
        It must follow that a person that is unlicensed is also guilty but further if an unlicensed person carries out unlicensed work he should be charged with attempted manslaughter in the first place when admitting carrying out unlicensed work.
        Because that is exactly what they are attempting.
        Anyone helping or abbetting is also guilty.
        Bob

Participant

Morton,

Your judgement is pretty harsh, but it makes sense. Still, I would beg to differ with an absolute prohibition against unlicensed “amateurs” doing their own plumbing work on their own homes.

Certainly the plumbing profession can be credited with doing at least as much as the medical profession for eliminating disease, improving the quality of life, and indeed extending the lives of modern civilized humans.