Plumbers skilled in working with vintage fixtures

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Plumbers skilled in working with vintage fixtures

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

Hello –

I am a design consultant who works with clients who want to restore bathrooms and kitchens in their older homes. Many of them want to use original fixtures (1940s and earlier, some as old as 1890s), but I have a very hard time helping them find plumbers who will work with them and, more importantly, know how to deal with these older fixtures. Most plumbers will tell me to throw out “that junk” and go to Big Box Home Store for a cheap replacement fixture, which is the wrong answer.

Anyway, I’m trying to compile a list of plumbing professionals nationwide who have verifiable ability to install and repair vintage plumbing (by verifiable, I mean a client list with references I can check). If anyone out there has these skills and is interested in being included in my resource list, please reply with your email and I’ll be in touch. Thanks very much.

Participant

Hey Lisa,

drop me a line. [email protected]
          While not all vintage fixtures are salvagable, we do work on, rebuild and reinstall them if the customer wishes.

Participant

http://www.deabath.com/Original/Or_restorations/or_restorations.htm
            Here is site for old fix. and parts.

Art retired plbg

Participant

Lisa,

Most of the old plumbing fixtures and fittings you want a plumber to install does not meet today’s health, sanitary and safety codes also requires approval by the local inspector before installing. You are asking the plumber to put his license and reputation on the line which is not professional.

Today, many reproduction products are on the market some of these items meet code however; many do not and require costly backfolw protection.

It’s great to make a dollar but you should know the basic plumbing codes before you start asking plumbers todo somthing that is not legal.