Kitchenaid dishwasher problem — won’t run

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Kitchenaid dishwasher problem — won’t run

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

I just installed a Kitchenaid dishwasher KDS-18 in my kitchen. I got it from a friend who was doing a complete kitchen remodel. He had had no problems with the appliance. It sat for 2 weeks before I installed it. It ran for one cycle, but did not fully drain. When I tried to run it again I got no startup, as if I have no power. There is power to the unit, and I cannot find any reset button. If anyone has any suggestions, it would certainly be appreciated. Thank you.

Participant

You got it free so spend the money and have a service man come over, its probaly a stuck selinoid valve.

Participant

I don’t normally fix major plumbing appliances (clothes and dishwashers and dryers), for three reasons: 1) it’s not worth my time; 2) I’m not an expert in that area (as RP says, that’s what the Maytag man is for); and 3) unless you are talking about a really expensive appliance out of warrantee, the cost of a service call would make buying a new appliance a reasonable option. That being said, I have a cheap streak in me when it comes to my own home maintenance expenses, and I have over the years repaired my own clothes and dishwashers and those of neighbors and relatives.