Fill value not running AT ALL

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Fill value not running AT ALL

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Hello,

I should note I’m a total newbie to plumbing repair..

Here’s the story – I had a toilet that was filling *very* slowly (and didn’t have ANYTHING running out the little tube to the side of the fill valve – I assume that’s to fill the bowl while the tank fills up) So I turn off the water, flush it, and then attempt to disassemble the fill valve (NOT a FluidMaster – it looks like it has a solid round washer between the intake pipe and water outlet, with a float controlling it). I can’t figure out how to get the valve apart without breaking it (3 tabs appear to hold it on, but it doesn’t appear to rotate or anything). So I turn the water back on.. Nothing.. I assume that the water pressure in the intake pipe is not high enough to open the washer valve, even without the float holding it.

A little more on the fill value – I think it might be a Master-brand value of some kind. It has a yellow cap above the round washer with a small flat red bulb on the back end, perpendicular to the cap. There is a white cap on top of this, presumably just for looks – there isn’t anything holding it on securely.

I haven’t tried testing the pressure on the intake line, as that would mean disassembling it further..

Any ideas? On how to disassemble the valve, or perhaps an obstruction in the water intake line?

Thanks
        Jim Witte
        jswitte(SPAM)@(WHAMMY)bloomington.(not com)in.us

(Yes, that is an RFC 2822 complient email – it is an ‘address with hair’.. remove the comments in parentheses if your email client complains)

Participant