Di-electric nipples

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Di-electric nipples

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

There are di-electric nipples sold that are basically galvanized nipples with a plastic insert. How does this stop dielectric action because you are still making a metal to metal connection of 2 metal that do not get along with each other?

Participant

Even as a plumber, I am stumped on this question.

Any time I run into using a tank with these already installed, I still use female dielectric unions to separate the metals.

It is still a connection directly into the water heater and there is dissimilar metals like copper to galvanized which can trigger galvanic action.

Participant

In reply to message posted by flockheart:
            There are di-electric nipples sold that are basically galvanized nipples with a plastic insert. How does this stop dielectric action because you are still making a metal to metal connection of 2 metal that do not get along with each other?

There are two effective ways to join ferrous and cupric metals together to minimize electrolysis. One method is to use a fitting with a non-conductor (plastic non-metal) buffer material between the cupric and ferrous pipe. These are the “dielectric” unions. The second method is to use a low-zinc content brass nipple, which should be at least 6″ in length. You could also use a plastic fitting (such as PVC) to connect the Fe-Cu pipes, which might be good from the electrolysis point of view, but might not be mechanically strong.

Participant

Nick

Well answered I take my hat off to you.

Selgas Services Ltd
              Craftsman Gasfitters, Plumbers, Electrical Service Technicians

Participant