University project

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing University project

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

I am a final year student of Mechanical engineering in Ireland. I am doing a project aimed to reduce the cost of heating water for a domestic house? I will be generating approximately 400-600 watts of of power which will be used to supplement the power obtained for the electricity. I was wondering what type of heating element would be necessary to insert in the storage tank to comply with the power i am generateing? Will a normal element found in a normal storage tank do? Or will i need a special element?
        Any help you may give me would be much appreciated?

Billy Sheahan
        University of Limerick

Participant

In the US, the average range of wattage in elements are 3000, 3500, 3800 and 4500 watts, and I am sure I am missing a few.

Avatar photoRobert Stephen Morton
          Participant

Billy, Sounds a bit Oirish to me, but you said that you would be generating aprox 400-600watts to “suplement the “power” for electricity.
            Are you saying that you will be generating aprox 400-600 watts per day so that that power can be onsold to the utility?
            Or are you saying that you will be generating 400-600 wats per hr to be onsold to the utility?
            Or are you saying you will be generating 400-600 watts that you will be using & using the utilities grid to supply the difference.
            Billy you should be talking to an electrician because he would work out the household requirements & suggest the smallest element to heat the water to an acceptable temp of 60deg celsious.
            Bob

Participant

Billy

To give you a correct answer we need a few more details – you say you are going to produce 400 to 600 watts of power that is great but at what voltage?
              600 watts of power is about what is used in a domestic twin slice toaster.