need advice on BTU’s for a commercial water heater…

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing need advice on BTU’s for a commercial water heater…

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      MasterPlumbers
      Keymaster

Hello,
      This is my first time using this site and I am hoping someone will have a suggestion to help me.

The situation:

I run a historic hotel in Sonora, CA and we are having hot water troubles. Our current system uses 2 state 100gal 440K BTU water heaters in series into 2 state 200gal storage tanks. We have a circulation pump with a thermostat to keep the storage water up to temp. This system was installed in 1984.

The problem:

One of the heaters is now leaking!!!

The Question:

How do I figure out how much capacity we really need here? Is there a formula, maybe from the water heater manufacturers, that tells how much water is needed in a hotel situation? We have 31 rooms in this building and we also have a bar and restaurant, but the restaurant is only open for lunch and dinner. Most of the restaurant water usage would be in the afternoon and the guest rooms only really use hot water in the morning.

I have a quote from a local commercial plumber for installation but no one can tell me how much I really need. I am considering buying 2 Rheem 100 gallon 199K BTU heaters, but I need to be sure if they are big enough.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.
      manager@sonoradaysinn.com

robertgf
      Participant

good lord are’nt any of you talking heads going to answer this guy i want to learn too!

Robert Stephen Morton
      Participant

robertgf, it took me a long time to fathom out wot was missing.
      Any ideas of incoming temp & required temp?
      Is the Restaurant private or public & what is the throughput?
      How efficient is the lagging on the circulation pump?
      Was the old system coping with the demand?
      He tated that the present system was 880000BTU’s but was thinking of installing a 398000BTU system.