Curious left-hander

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Curious left-hander

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

What is the reasoning behind the convention that the hot water tap is always connected on the left?

Participant

i believe it’s because when plumbing was first installed indoors there was no hot water only cold, people are predominatly right handed hence the spigot went on the right, when domestic hot water was introduced there was no where to go but left

Participant

Plus people all over the world go for the cold on the right automaticly, so why stuff things around and create problems

DISCLAIMER

All advice is given with-out seeing the job, and hence all advice MUST be taken as advice with limited knowledge on the exact situation. NO responsibility can or will be taken. And yes, I am a licensed Plumber and Drainer with my own business in Brisbane Australia.
            Try visiting ….
            Macadamia nuts and Aussie productsProstate cancer kills 2600 per/year in AustraliaEcommerce books

Participant

Being a leftie, I noticed that without thinking, I reach for the left tap whether I need hot water or not. So, over a lifetime I’m wasting energy, not to mention a few bucks. I was wondering if the tradition of putting the cold on the right was deliberately established to be more efficient, considering most people are right handed and automatically reach for the right tap. ( It’s obvious I have too little to do)

Avatar photoRobert Stephen Morton
              Participant

It was introduced during the war by the Germans.
                its a blonde thing! & easy to remember – hot on the left cold on the right and colours the same as mariners use.
                It only causes problems when the Plumber is roughing in the Plumbing on the other side of the wall.

Bob

Participant

thats why they make moen faucets, and yes i am blonde or used to be before male pattern baldness reared it’s ugly head

Participant