Please help, need a new kind of auger

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Please help, need a new kind of auger

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

My toilet has clogged up five times, to the point of giving up and calling a plumber, in the two years I’ve lived here. I bought an auger, and spent several hours trying to use it, but couldn’t convince the snake part to go any farther or do anything at all; it only takes the plumbers a couple seconds, literally, and when I asked this one for help in learning to use my new auger, he couldn’t use it either, and said it’s a lousy kind. His had a much longer area with solid tubing (2 tubes I think), and just needs to be cranked, obviously very easy to use; but this is the middle of nowhere, and both local hardware stores and everything I can find on a Google search only have the same kind I bought. I’m a returning student on financial aid, and a renter, no way I can afford this, no way my lousy landlord will do anything, and for various reasons moving is out until I can leave the area altogether. Please help!

Participant

use a plunger the old fashioned red rubber kind, it’s designed for sinks but i think it’s the easiest to use anywhere

Participant

You have access to an old style mop… the type with string, not sponge on the head ?

Makes a great plunger, and is very cheap

DISCLAIMER

All advice is given with-out seeing the job, and hence all advice MUST be taken as advice with limited knowledge on the exact situation. NO responsibility can or will be taken. And yes, I am a licensed Plumber and Drainer with my own business in Brisbane Australia.
            Try visiting ….
            Macadamia nuts and Aussie productsProstate cancer kills 2600 per/year in AustraliaEcommerce books

Participant

Has any one had a look in an IO to see why it might be blocking up?

Avatar photoRobert Stephen Morton
              Participant