Please explain about valves

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Please explain about valves

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

Hi, I have a question regarding a valve that I never saw posted on any site.
        I am an assistant stationary engineer and I noticed a valve with an arrow facing opposite the flow and I asked the chief about it and he said it doesn’t matter is this correct?

Any information would be deeply appreciated.

Participant

Oh man this is going to be very intreasting.
          Ok Sylvan he just opened the door

Participant

In reply to message posted by PlumBob:
            Oh man this is going to be very intreasting.
            Ok Sylvan he just opened the door

Wow what faith my public has. :-)

Great Question and hopefully I wont disappoint Bob :-).

You know one of the most challenging jobs I have ever held was the position of licensed stationary engineer.

This was one of the fields that if you lived to be a thousand years old you couldn’t even scratch the surface in what is really required for this position.

Between HVAC compressor – condencer – metering devices and evaporator and reciever (bigger units)plus all the electronics – electric and mechanic’s involved it was a never ending challenge, so I took the easiest path out and became a “plumber”.

Ok now for the valve question being a plumber is easy as all we do is go to a supply house and ask the guy behind the counter for either a ball valve or a “speedy valve” or gas valve (cock) and let them pick it out.

Today’s non licensed stumblebums found a home in plummin and heatin BUT as a licensed professional stationary engineer we had to know which valves for various applications were to be used as someone should know.

So here is what I do remember from the various tests I had taken to be a “qualified” SE

The arrow on the valve most lightly means your talking about a globe valve.