HELP with toilet tank: Reconnecting

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing HELP with toilet tank: Reconnecting

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Hello. I just replaced all the components of my toilet with new Fluid Master parts; however, I can’t get the tank back onto the body of the toilet. The rubber ring which goes around the base of the flush valve will not fit into the hole to the bowl. Subsequently, when the bowl fills with water it drains out through the bolts which hold the tank to the base of the toilet because the tank is clearly not wedged into the base far enough for the bolts and washers to be fully waterproofed. What should I do? I do have plumber’s putty-can (or should I) use this instead of the rubber gasket that came with the repair kit? I am not a professional- just a housewife- and perhaps I didn’t get the correct repair kit. I went down to Home Depot and bought what the guy showed me; however, maybe it’s the wrong size or something. Are there different repair kit sizes? How would I know which one fits my toilet without having to buy several to compare at home? Any help or thoughts on the matter would be greatly appreciated! I have guests coming to stay in a few hours and had wanted the toilet to be repaired in the guest bedroom; otherwise they will have to traipse downstairs in the middle of the night to use the potty. Thanks in advance for any replies-Please e-mail me *privately* at [email protected] .

Julie Holmes

Avatar photoRobert Stephen Morton
        Participant

It seems that the USA is still like Dodge City! In Australia we have rules governing the Plumbing Industry, Unlicenced persons are allowed to simply replace tap washers or cistern rubbers. Any person carrying out any other work which is required to be carried out by licensed persons can be fined up to $12500.00. I would suggest that any American Plumber that is proud of his trade would suggest that you get a Licensed Master Plumber to fix your problem.

Participant