Leaking steam traps

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Leaking steam traps

• This topic has 2 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 23 years ago by Avatar photoSylvanLMP.
Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

I have a large Bldg with a Dunham-Bush Condensate Vacuum pump unit, and it would be great if we did not have a continous battle of fighting leaking steam traps throughout the place and if we had a gravitation line system. My question is, do you know of a better/efficient kind of unit other than this type where
        seals go out or the check-valves go out between tanks and we lose control function of this unit because of all this situations. Maybe some
        kind of certifical type pump system to get the mind going? I have a VRD656520E2 20 PSIG Capacity 65,000 ser no. 88199 of course
        Dunham-bush unit. Can you suggest a way to go?

Thanks
        Bill

I work in the field, so I get to the e-mail reading certain times of the day. Bare with me….

Participant

Hi, Bill. The original intent of these units was to help the condensate along through smaller return mains. Leaking traps need to be repaired and replaced to keep the temperature of the return down to stop wasted heat emission from the return. If radiation or process has been lost from the system to the point where gravity return is permissible, there still remains the heat lost from the return when there is no seal to keep steam out of the return main. The cost of wasted heat will be more than the labor to repair traps and seals. If it were otherwise, the equipment would have been avoided at installation.

Participant

Since your using high pressure steam (anything over 15 PSI is considered high pressure) have you considered a thermo-dynamic trap?

I used these disc type of traps from 10-600 PSI without any failures and anyone can repair them if the need arises. No seals or gaskets or floats to contend with