Chloromine in water?

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Chloromine in water?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

How does Chloromine affect drinking water quality?

Thanks

Participant

This is one area I can speak on with some authority. I am a chemist currently going for my masters in environmental analytical chemistry.

There is no “chloromine”, so I can only assume you mean chlorine. Chlorine oxides are biocides, meaning they kill bacteria by permeating the cell membrane, and causing those cells to explode (via a large increase in internal osmotic pressure). At low levels you shouldn’t taste the chlorine, but if you are concerned, you can always install a water filter under sinks that eliminate chlorides, as well as other compounds. Hypochlorites are what you usually taste when you accidently drink pool water. While its not dangerous per se, it leaves a nasty taste. If you DO decide to put water filtration under the sinks, just remember that they have to be maintained as per manufacturers schedule. A dirty filter, or one that needs regeneration (in the case of ion-exchange resins) is WORSE than not having a filter, since all the materials trapped in the filter will be released into your drinking water (the same goes for air filtration devices as well).

The Friendly Chemist

Participant

Trihalomethanes (THM)