AWH wiring

Home Forums Archives Old Bulletin Board Archives AWH wiring

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author

This probably seems pretty basic, but…I recently replaced the thermostats and elements on a State 60 gal. water heater. I am an electrician, and a gas fitter, so have some experience in this matter. After completing the wiring as per the packaged instructions included with the upper thermostat/limit combination, I found that I had the same phase feeding the lower element. Checking the upper control, I had the wiring installed per the instructions, but found I had to switch the black wire from post #4 to double up on post #2 in order to get 240v across the lower element. Am I nuts? or is this a typo on the instruction sheet? If anyone knows of a site where I could have a look at the proper wiring method for this residential unit, I would be grateful. The AWH is working ok now, but I hate to leave something hooked up not according to manufacturers specs. Thanks.

Participant