CPVC Vs. Copper

Home Forums Archives Old Bulletin Board Archives CPVC Vs. Copper

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

I am a small builder and have built two homes now using cpvc pipe for hot and cold water supplies. All of the plumbers that I have talked to are against using it. However, two items of interest are one that they only use type M and the second is that after 10 years of use on the first home plumbed with cpvc I have only had one problem occur. After about eight years I developed a leak in a ceiling. Upon investigation I discovered that a leak had occured where the half inch cpvc fitting was joined with a brass check valve. I had used teflon tape on this joint, but the dissimilar expansion and contraction resulted in this leak point. However I have now resolved this problem by purchasing cpvc adaptors which are a one3 piece factory made item which convert from cpvc to tapered pipe threaD. i AM GETTING READY TO BUILD A LARGE AND EXPENSIVE HOME and cannot justify the cost of copper. Dave Powers

Participant