Boiler Pressure too high!

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Boiler Pressure too high!

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

I have a boiler for home heat (hot water/baseboard) and the pressure relief valve is leaking because the pressure within the boiler is too high (the needle is pegged off the scale).

What could be causing this? I haven’t verified that the pump is faulty, but it appears to be working. The system seems to be adequately bled and the vent seems to be working.

I have little plumbing experience, but have lots of mechanical and electrical experience.

Please help!
        Dan

Participant

HI Dan, Lucky you asked the right heating expert in hydronics (ME) :-)

OK the probable causes of excessive pressure in a hot water heating system are the following

1- The expansion tank is flooded

2-The expansion bladder gave up either the ghost Or the bladder lost some of its charge

3- The automatic feeder NORMALLY set 12-15 psi is malfunctioning allowing street pressure in to the system

4- Someone opened by pass OR the fast fill feature of the automatic feeder

5- If you have a tankless coil this coil sprung a leak and is allowing FULL main pressure into this system

6- This boiler has excessive air in the system that is allowing this air to compress and thus build up pressure (air can be compressed and water cant)

7- Your Aqua stat controller (high limit) is not working and allowing excessive pressure/temperature relationship.

Most lightly it is the expansion tank OR tankless coil is applicable

Participant