Running toilet

Home Forums Archives Old Bulletin Board Archives Running toilet

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

I have a 20 m+ year old gerber (I believe is the brand) toilet that runs every 7 minutes or so. Ive replaced the flapper atleast 4 differant ones and the collal or sleve that the flapper seals against 3 times. Ive used a fluidmaster flush kit and that didnt work. Ive replaced the tank and it still leaks. The tank is level and still the problem. I know the water is going into the bowl because I put dye into the tank and 5 minutes late the bowl water was colored. There is no water on the floor so its gotta be coming under the flap, Right ??? I have a fluidmaster flush valve (ball and cock replacement). HELP, Im going NUTS…..

Participant

Wrong. You probably have the little refill tube stuck way down into the overflow pipe, and it is sucking the water out of the tank. Use the little plastic dealie bob that came with the FM and suspend the tube over the overflow pipe.: I have a 20 m+ year old gerber (I believe is the brand) toilet that runs every 7 minutes or so. Ive replaced the flapper atleast 4 differant ones and the collal or sleve that the flapper seals against 3 times. Ive used a fluidmaster flush kit and that didnt work. Ive replaced the tank and it still leaks. The tank is level and still the problem. I know the water is going into the bowl because I put dye into the tank and 5 minutes late the bowl water was colored. There is no water on the floor so its gotta be coming under the flap, Right ??? I have a fluidmaster flush valve (ball and cock replacement). HELP, Im going NUTS…..

Participant