Corrosion problems with galvanized well pump piping at the submersiable pump.

Home Forums Archives Old Bulletin Board Archives Corrosion problems with galvanized well pump piping at the submersiable pump.

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

I am a pump installer and have been having problems with the stick of galvanized piping just above the pump in a submersable pump system. Most systems will last for 10 to 20 years without problems, but recently we have hade a couple customers systems appear with small pin hole leeks just above the pump connection on the piping (on the threads where the galvanizing is removed by the threading process). We have little problems with other joints with exposed steel elseware in the well piping system. We have used electrical tape to cover the problem area, and this seems to work well, but I dont like this solution. We use Grundfos stainless steel pumps and the same problem occured on our old Red Jacket line which uses a plastic sleeve in the pump itself. This leads me to believe that electrolysis may or may not be occuring between the pump and the piping. I dont want to use plastic pipe on a well set. I feed that plastic pipe with lead to more problems with breaking and strength in this application. Would a diaelectric union or other seperator device work to break current flow in a diaelectric situation. Please help.

Participant