Proper Use of Well

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing Proper Use of Well

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

We have a 120′ well that we use for outdoor watering only. There are two tanks in the well house … I’m not sure of their capacity but they’re about 36″ high and maybe 24″ across. When the water stops running after 30-45 minutes, should I be cutting the power to the pump to allow the column to recharge on its rather than trying to use the pump to draw water into it? My understanding is that the pump serves only to draw water already in the column and force it into the retention tanks I spoke of and that leaving it on will only accelerate the usage of the pump motor. I’m new to using a well and would appreciate any education.

Participant

Are these tanks expansion tanks? or is this a break tank configuration? William please be more specific on the types of tanks. Do they have a place to add air? Are these tanks made of plastic or fiberglass? Tell us how they are plumbed.

Participant

If your tanks are Round the volume would be 70.46 gallons EACH IF your tanks are rectangle the volume in each would be 89.76 gallons each

Participant

Thanks for your replies.