Reply To: t&p

Home Forums Public Forums General Plumbing t&p Reply To: t&p

Participant

In reply to message posted by racefanone:
    Fourth year: I half way agree with your statements.But there are some retired trades people who are working at places the likes of Home Depot,etc, to earn a little extra money.Some have a great deal of experience.Have a good one.

Hi Racefanone,

One of my early mentors was the superintendent of a very large plumbing shop when I was a 2nd year apprentice.

By the time I was in my 3rd year of apprenticeship (out of 5) I was already being paid journeymen wages.

I left that shop to work with another shop so I could try another aspect of plumbing like hospital work and institutional as I already had performed industrial and lots of commercial installations BORING high rises.

About 10 years ago I was in a home depot and saw my old line boss and felt bad for him as I tried to hide before he could see me to avoid him from being embarrassed.

Bernie said Hey Kid come here whatcha doing guy?

I told him I had my own companies (two) and several licenses and offered him a job right then and there as my top Superintendent to actually run the day to day operations.

He gave me a hug and said thanks kid but IM old and have bad knees and high blood pressure and only like to dabble in plummin as I get bored traveling or staying home watching TV.

Bernie was the guy I went to learn my trades.

On lunch hour he would show the apprentices how to read plans and take fittings off them.

He taught me how to braze medical gas lines and constantly asked me code questions every time he happened to walk past where I was working.

Over the past 20+ years we lost touch until I met him in the store giving advice.

Mechanically he was not that great BUT codes and actually running the jobs he was the best.

His advice to the home owners was much more “professional” then the majority of the weirdo’s postings on here.