Reply To: flat rate and service agreements

Home Forums Public Forums Drainage & Sewerage flat rate and service agreements Reply To: flat rate and service agreements

Participant

Hi Bill, as you know from my numerous postings I do give contract prices and T&M pricing and YES I. Quote my hourly rate over the phone.

There are way to many stumblebums who never in their lives had a successful business or operated a successful business now “experts in pricing”

I figure if someone calls to ask how much as main sewer is going to cost to be cleaned I have no problem quoting $125 minimum.

This gets rid of the price shoppers and lets folks know It is not going to cost one cent less.

There are many “normal” jobs that I can and do quote over the phone for example 50 gallon 10 year water heater installed (replacement) $970

75 gallon $1,200.

I do not have to waste my time or theirs driving to someone’s home to give a diagnostic look for a fee.

After all as a plumber I have installed at least one hot water heater in my career so I know how long it should take and have a darn good idea how much materials I will need.

As I said a 1,000 times I WILL NOT give a “contract price” on any job I know will be under $1,500 (I just raised it from $1,000)

It just not pay for me to send out a van with a mechanic to look at a job.

On jobs that do require a written estimate I charge for the time it takes for material take off and labor work up… NON Refundable fee.

This helps me get away from the folks who want to play “lets make a deal” rather then looking for quality 1st.

I normally change the specifications also when I see plastic drainage and adjust my prices accordingly if need be, as most of the time I can charge the same price for cast Iron as for plastic.

Being a professional I do not need the materials to make money, that is why I do charge enough for my labor rate LIKE A doctor or Lawyer or drain ligitimate drain cleaner. No materials required to make a decent living.